California is one of the most liberal states in terms of the use of marijuana for medical purposes. However, there are also some restrictions on the sale and usage of CBD for various purposes. It is important to understand the dictates of the law so as not to be a victim of ignorance.
CBD Laws in California
CBD or Cannabidiol is a cannabinoid found in cannabis plants like hemp and marijuana. Cannabidiol is one of the major Cannabinoid compounds in cannabis plants. There are two types of CBD, the type with more than 0.3% THC and the type with less than 0.3% THC. You should know that THC is the Cannabinoid compound that causes the “highness” or ecstatic effect.
CBD extracts are legal in California as long as they contain less than 0.3% of THC. They can be in the form of oil or capsule among others. CBD has been proven to have therapeutic effects and is said to have anti-inflammatory, analgesic, seizure-suppressing, and anti-anxiety properties. However, it is illegal in California to add CBD extracts to human or dog food. It is also illegal to use cannabis plants with more than 0.3% THC concentration for any purpose. CBD is only legal for medical and recreational purposes in California. You will find more information clicking on the offical CDFA’s website.
Requirements for Producing CBD in California
The FDA is very strict in regulating the production and sale of cannabinoids, especially CBD. The California Industrial Hemp Farming Act authorized the commercial production of CBD. First, you have to be licensed to produce or sell CBD or any cannabis products. You also have to register with a county agricultural commissioner before you can start cultivating cannabis plants. You can register at the CDFA Industrial Hemp Program webpage and pay an annual registration fee of $900.
During registration, you have to select the category you belong to (i.e. growers, breeders, etc.). Furthermore, you have to tender your cannabis plant samples for THC concentration testing not more than 30 days before harvesting. When submitting samples for testing, you should include some information (registration number, name and contact information, anticipated harvest date, name of the seed, physical address, GPS coordinates, general description of the location, acreage of the crop, name and contact information of the laboratory to conduct the testing for THC concentration).
The California law also applies to the labeling of CBD products. The products should be named correctly and should contain the following information.
- Date of manufacturing and expiry.
- Government warning on the use of CBD products.
- Symbol of the cannabis plant to identify that the product contains cannabis.
- Details of the manufacturer like name, contact information and UID number.
- Amount of CBD and THC percentage per volume and per serving.
- List of ingredients and coloring.
- Spectrum of cannabis and other necessary information.
It is against the law to add any unproven health benefit claims on the label. The label should not be attractive to kids.
Buying CBD in California
The sale of CBD in California is not properly regulated. Although there are lots of physical dispensaries in California, getting it from online sources seems better. Online dispensaries are cheaper and more credible. You can also investigate their websites to question the legitimacy of their products. If you want to buy cannabis or CBD products in California, the tips below can guide you.
- Avoid stores that claim to have CBD products that are “very potent.” CBD may be a good drug but it does not work a miracle and it does not “cure everything.”
- A good dispensary should also provide adequate information about itself and its products. Look out for information such as third party lab reports.
- You should also know the source of the CBD, the environment in which the cannabis plant grew and the method of extraction. A full-spectrum CBD can easily be contaminated if cultivated in the wrong environment or passed through the wrong form of extraction.
Information such as these may not be easily accessible in physical dispensaries. You should also keep up with the state laws as they are made to protect people.
Great info, very helpful, so thank you!